Lucy Torres: “I always say every month, ‘I think I’m pregnant.’”

"I always say every month, ‘I think I’m pregnant.’"

“Hindi naman siya nagmamadali, but he always tells me na, ‘Honey, I really want another one. I really want another one,’” says Lucy about her and hubby Richard Gomez’s wish for another child.

When a reporter asked Lucy Torres-Gomez, “Kailan masusundan si Juliana,” the TV host laughed a little and said, “Oo nga, e. That’s a perennial question.”

During the press conference of her newest product endorsement with daughter Juliana held yesterday afternoon, July 18, at Annabel’s Restaurant in Tomas Morato, Quezon City, the 32-year-old mom said that she and Richard have long been wanting to have another baby in their home.

Lucy told the media, “That’s why I always say every month, ‘I think I’m pregnant. You know, they say you have to play it so every month “I think I’m pregnant.

“I always think that I’m pregnant. We’re really trying but it hasn’t happened yet. I always say that it’s all going to happen in God’s plan and in God’s time.”

Even though they have been trying to give their grade-school daughter a playmate, Lucy clarified that there was no pressure from each other to bear another child.

“I’m at that point already when I feel that everything really is in God’s direction. Everything will happen in God’s plan and in God’s time. All I can really do is pray and wait patiently,” she said.

Lucy also explained, “Maybe the reason why there’s really no pressure between the two of us is because we both know that we want it just as much. It’s not like isa lang ‘yong may gusto, ‘yong isa hindi. Tugma kami doon sa gusto namin pareho.”

Then she reminded the media that when she and Richard got married in 1998, they did not immediately have a baby. In fact, she said, “It took me a while to get pregnant with Juliana also. It wasn’t instant because I wanted sana na after we get married, buntis kaagad ako. It didn’t happen that way.”

Meanwhile, during the interview, Lucy was asked if their daughter was also requesting to have a baby brother or sister. Lucy said, “If we ask her, ‘Do you like a brother or a sister?’ Her first answer is always, ‘No, I don’t like.’”

And then she surmised, “Maybe she doesn’t verbalize na gusto niya ng kapatid. Palagi siyang naghahanap ng kalaro na ka size niya.”

Lucy and Richard have been explaining to Juliana what would happen if an additional member arrives in their family. Lucy always tells Juliana, ” ‘You shouldn’t be scared, Juliana, to have another brother or sister because it doesn’t mean we will love you any less.’

“We will always tell her, ‘You are our first love. You will always love you. When the brother or the sister, when they come, we will love you just as much as we love them. Walang mababawas.’ I always tell her, ‘Our hearts are big enough.’”

Right now, their seven-year old daughter has been showing a lot of changes. “She’s really growing up fast,” exclaimed Lucy, “because on the wall, where her bed is, I already see posters of the [Disney’s] Jona’s Brothers and Hannah Montana. And I tell her, ‘Juliana, you remind me of when I was a bit older than you, I had Menudo poster.’”

Could this be a sign that Juliana would soon join the showbiz industry, too?

Lucy shook her head. “No, you won’t see her anytime soon. I want to protect her and extend her pure years some more because there will be time to grow up. And when she’s all grown up, no need to fastbreak everything. I want her to enjoy being a child for now.”

NERISA ALMO
Philippine Entertainment Portal

Leave a Reply

