Kris Aquino will still resume showbiz career despite mom’s delicate condition

Kris Aquino will still resume showbiz career despite mom’s delicate condition

“It was just heart-breaking,” was how Kris Aquino described their feelings when her family learned about the health condition of mom and former President Cory Aquino last Monday, March 24. Cory was diagnosed with colon cancer and is currently undergoing chemotherapy sessions.

Kris Aquino feels that suffering a miscarriage, at this point of her life, is a blessing in disguise.

“Maybe it’s God’s will, so that I can spend as much time as I can with my mom without risking my pregnancy,” she bravely told entertainment columnist Ricky Lo. Kris’s mother, former President Corazon “Cory” Aquino, was recently diagnosed with colon cancer and is currently undergoing chemotherapy sessions.

In an article published today, March 27, in the Philippine Star, Ricky revealed that members of the family are all very involved in taking care of the Aquino matriarch—attending to all of her needs and accompanying her to the hospital and even to the beauty salon.

“After each session, she rests for one week before another two-week session,” shared Kris. “We have to be very careful that the apparatus doesn’t get wet, so I brought my mom to Bambbi’s salon for shampoo.”

Kris knows that the routine can be very taxing given her mother’s already delicate condition. To make things easier for her mom, Kris just bought a shampoo bowl and a chair. “So she doesn’t have to go to Bambbi’s salon everytime she needs a shampoo,” explained the popular TV host, “she can have it at home na lang.”

As part of her treatment, the former president wears an apparatus strapped around her waist—the same reason why Cory needs to go to the salon to have a shampoo since the apparatus must be kept dry at all times.

The former president is now staying at her eldest daughter Ballsy’s house in Green Meadows.

“I go to Ate Ballsy’s house early mornings and stay there until late afternoon. Yesterday, I was there from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.,” informs Kris.

NOT TAKING A BREAK. Cory reportedly told Kris that she was touched with the outpouring of support coming from tons of well wishers after Kris and brother Senator Noynoy Aquino made the announcement last Monday, March 24.

A day after making the announcement, Kris had a miscarriage and lost her seven and a half weeks baby. In a text message she sent to close friends, Kris put the unfortunate incident in a positive light by saying: “Dr Pastorfide [Kris’s doctor] already ruled that I had a miscarriage. My gestational sac has collapsed and my ovum is blighted. This is I’m sure is part of God’s will because He wants me to be able to give my mom the best care and as much time as possible without any health concerns of my own.”

Talking to Kris during their trips to the hospital, Cory would always remind Kris to plot her career and broaden her horizon like multi-awarded actress and now Batangas Governor Vilma Santos. Incidentally, Vilma was among those who extended words of encouragement to Cory immediately after Kris delivered the news in public.

“She was telling me to plan my career the way Ate Vi planned hers,” shared Kris. “Sabi ng mom ko, I should have another career after showbiz.”

Kris, however, clarified that she’s not taking a sabbatical from show business despite her commitment to be with Cory during this difficult times. “I have to work,” she stated casually. “But I see to it that I am with my mom during my free time. As I said, I am spending as much time with her as I can.”

BONG GODINEZ
Philippine Entertainment Portal

Leave a Reply

